Let’s talk about 2017

We’re back. It took a little time to shake off the hangover from July but we moved straight back to organising in August and I think it’s high time we shared some news (I also thought it’d wise to squeeze this announcement in before the hangover from Thought Bubble kicks this weekend).

This year we moved into a new venue, the Royal Concert Hall, which I’m really happy about. Glasgow Comic Con has had several homes over the years and, after starting to spill out of the CCA over the past couple of years, this was our biggest yet. I hope it’s our home for many cons to come.

With that in mind, I’m delighted to announce our return to the Concert Hall in 2017 and pleased to officially announce the date for the next con – Saturday, July 1st 2017.

If this year was us moving, between now and July, I’m excited to unpack the boxes and properly settle in.

What’s new?

That said, a few things are changing for 2017:

  1. Next year’s show will be a one-day event. After thinking long and hard about it, I believe it suits our new venue and will improve the experience for attendees and exhibitors.
  1. Secondly, there’s a slightly new team. Sha Nazir said 2016 would be his last year running Glasgow Comic Con and it is. He’ll still be around but, instead of booking guests and agonising over table plans, his focus is on making books. Aforementioned con-planning is now up to me.

Glasgow Comic Con has always come under the umbrella of BHP Comics and, moving forward, that won’t change. The convention’s focus is still very much on comic books themselves – while there’s a time and place for massive entertainment cons, our show isn’t, and never will be, one of them. This year’s guest list was one of my favourite’s and I look forward to building on that next year.

So, what’s next?

Applications for traders and exhibitors are now live and ticket details will be released before the end of the year.

Without jinxing things, 2016 should also hold another couple of exciting announcements too – which you’ll see me shouting from social media about as soon as I’m able to. 

In the meantime, if you need me, I’m at nicola@bhpcomics.com.

See you next year,

Nicola Love

Comments are closed.